Legal Question in Family Law in California

I was laid off in Dec 08, from a company I worked with for 16 years.

I was paying $750.00 child support a month until I lost my job. I spoke with my ex and told her what had happened, she was understanding of the situation and we had come to the understanding that I would pay $200.00 a month child support since then I have not missed a payment. Oh I forgot to mention that my wife got laid off from her job the next day after 9 years of employment from the same company. We are both collecting unemployment ins and it is pretty rough making ends meet. We also have a 11 year old daughter together. Our first child support agreement is recognized through a court system. Should I have a written revision drawn up and can my ex come after me later for the rears of child support even though there was a verbal agreement made. I no verbals don't mean much and my ex is not a spiteful person but even still you never know. Thanks for your time.


Asked on 9/08/09, 2:20 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in California