Legal Question in Civil Litigation in California

I'm entering into a business contract that says it will be governed by CT law. It contains a provision that says that I will be obligated to pay attorneys fees to the other party if we go to court and I lose. It says nothing about what happens if I win. Here in CA, where the contract will be performed, we have a statute that says that if a contract says one party gets fees if they prevail, the other party gets fees if THEY win, even if the contract doesn't say so. Is there any such law or legal rule in CT? I'm reluctant to sign a contract that could require me to sue in CT, and they get their fees if I lose, but I eat my fees even if I win.


Asked on 4/29/21, 9:13 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

Wrong state. Nevermind.

Read more
Answered on 4/30/21, 6:56 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in California