Legal Question in Civil Litigation in California

Do I owe him?

I have a person who is saying he is going to sue me because we decided to rent a room for three day in Monterey. The room was 1500 dollars for the three night, three couples were staying in the room. Since I was paying for the whole thing on my credit card I decided to put down the 500 deposit, the other two couples were to pay me later. I got payment weeks later and because one of the couples decided that they couldn't go anymore they wanted me to refund them there 500 dollars, I let them know I couldn't but if they could find someone to take there place that would be fine, they never did so now they are demanding the money back or they will sue me. I don't know anything about these matters so can they sue me??

Asked on 8/25/08, 5:53 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Judith Deming Deming & Associates

Re: Do I owe him?

They can sue you, but if your version of the facts is accurate, they will be unlikely to win in court.

Read more
Answered on 8/25/08, 12:28 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in California