Legal Question in Employment Law in California

I have two misdemeanor convictions in CA, one was expunged and both older than 7 years. I beleive these will not appear on a consumer background check run by an employer, correct?

Additionally I divulged this information to an employment agency I had previously worked with- not explaining that they were older than 7 years and now the agency refuses to 'represent' or place me. They have not seen my background report nor requested it, but yet based on my confession I have been blacklisted. What can I do about that? It should be irrelevant since the convictions are older than 7 years and one was expunged.

Additionally I would like to work with a law firm (in an admin/acctg capacity under $70,000/yr. Would the 7 year law apply still here or will they have special clearance- or by law be required to obtain more in depth background checks?

Thank you

Asked on 10/21/10, 12:32 am

2 Answer from Attorneys

Terry A. Nelson Nelson & Lawless

Wrong. It is part of your record. Records are forever. It shows as 'conviction expunged'.

Read more
Answered on 10/27/10, 10:11 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in California