Legal Question in Employment Law in California

Hi I recently started working at a Subway last week and i started off doing as the manager calls it "volunteer work" for 2 days i worked 2 hours and worked Saturday for 3 hours and i quit because she was not paying me for the other 2 days i had previously worked and is only paying me for Saturday. I was basically getting trained those 2 days so shouldent i get paid for those 2 days i went in and worked. She also dident ask for any ID card or Social Security on the day of my interview so this whole situation seems wrong and confusing and would really like some help.

Asked on 3/03/20, 6:50 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Yes, you should be paid for training time. The company can't make you "volunteer" your time; that's called wage theft.

Tuvia Korobkin - Partner

Haines Law Group, APC

(424) 292-2353

Read more
Answered on 3/03/20, 7:20 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in California