Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

If I parked my car in a ten minute slot in my apartment complex where i live, and my car was towed, do I have the burden of proof that it was or wasnt there longer than ten minutes, or does my landlord? I dont believe there are any specific stipulations in my lease that point to a ten minute slot or towing associated with that. Wouldn't they be required to give notice?

Asked on 6/23/10, 10:10 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Saltzman, MBA, JD Law Offices of Mark E. Saltzman

If you are suing your landlord for damages, arising out of the towing, you have the burden or proof. If you are disputing a parking citation that the city gave you, the city has the burden of proof.

Read more
Answered on 6/25/10, 3:36 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California