Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

I received a 3 day pay or quit notice (moving out on 4th day). The late fee of $50 is included on the notice. I read that makes it invalid. Now on my rental agreement she made a typo stating that the late charge is 50% not to exceed 6%. Even if it had said $50, $50 exceeds 6% of my rent Are either of these invalid. If so what does that mean? I don't owe just rent? I don't owe anything because lease was invalid?

Asked on 9/08/14, 2:51 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Roach Law Office of Anthony A. Roach

It means the three (3) day pay or quit notice is invalid, and would not properly support an unlawful detainer lawsuit if it was properly defended. It does not mean you get to live there for free.

Read more
Answered on 9/08/14, 8:15 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California