Legal Question in Real Estate Law in California

When me and my father bought cemetery plots several years ago, I paid for my plot and told the cemetery representative that I wanted to have my own paperwork, but the paperwork was not issued in my name too.

I have informed my mother that I wanted the paperwork for my individual plot that I paid for and I have not received it. I may want to sell my plot and be buried somewhere else. My mother told me they could give me the money l spent on my plot, but I want the paperwork so I can decide if I want to sell it at current market price. We bought the cemetery plots over 20 years ago. Prices have gone way up over the years.

Can I sue my parents if they refuse to have the paperwork redone to separate my plot from the remaining others or if they just want to give me what I paid for my plot over 20 years ago?


Asked on 5/26/22, 9:37 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

If you really want to go down that path, yes, you can sue for what is called "partition" to have title to the plots separated.

Read more
Answered on 5/27/22, 9:57 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California