Legal Question in Real Estate Law in California

real estate

I put a bid on a townhouse that was for sale. I won the bid. Found out that the realtor was part owner and she did not disclose this information. In the mean time the realtor was offering me money to break the contract. So we thought something was up. anyway went into contract on 5/23. I got approved for the loan. And for the past few weeks the seller and agent are trying to back out of the loan. So today I find out they went into contract with another buyer. Is there any legal recourse or recommendations? Or do I wait till I lose the house or my loan doesn't fund in time? This has been trouble since the beginning I was kind of thinking they had a higher bid or something. Do you think this is some kind of scam? Anything you can tell me I would really appreciate it. thanks

Asked on 6/11/09, 12:17 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Lyle Johnson Bedi and Johnson Attorneys at Law

Re: real estate

Based on your statement of facts you would have a cause of action for fraud. You can either sue for specific performance or fraud and damages. Consult with an attorney.

Read more
Answered on 6/18/09, 1:28 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California