Legal Question in Traffic Law in Colorado

Motorcycle Law application over state lines

I am wondering if you can be prosecuted in another state if your motorcycle does not meet that states laws, but does meet your states laws. For instance: in Colorado, where I live, no turn signals are required ona motorcycle and only one rear view mirror is required. In some states where I will travel on my motorcycle turn signals and multiple rear view mirrors are required. If I am just passing through, I should not have to rebuild my motorcycle to meet each states criteria!?! Or should I?

Asked on 1/13/09, 1:26 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Gary Pirosko Gary Pirosko PC

Re: Motorcycle Law application over state lines

Your equipment has to comply with the laws of the state where you are riding, not just the state where you live.

Read more
Answered on 1/15/09, 5:47 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Colorado