Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in Florida

unlawful entry on private property by law enforcement

can deputys come on your private property(through a shut gate,in your fenced in backyard with k-9's)without having some type of search warrent? Deputys came to my front door asking for someone,when they were told no,they then asked can we come in. They were told no. Thirty seconds later I noticed lights in my backyard(they did not have permission to come in my yard)when I stepped out to see what it was I was confronted by an officer with k_9's saying,(''stay back they'll bite!'')

Is this a form of invasion of privacy?

Asked on 6/06/04, 12:06 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Regina Mullen Legal Data Services, PLC

Re: unlawful entry on private property by law enforcement

If they were in pursuit of someone, they had the right to enter your backyard without your permission.

Read more
Answered on 6/06/04, 5:11 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Florida