Legal Question in Consumer Law in Florida

I hired a contractor to build a garage and covered porch. contract started in August and he still is not finished. The contract called for progress payments. question - After I made the 2nd progress payment if I take him to court for taking too long to finish, am I obligated to pay him for the work done in between the 2nd payment I gave him and the third payment that he hasn't completed the work for?

progress payment schedule was based upon milestones (ex. due upon completion of framing, due upon blocks going up, due after shigles on roof, etc.) but there is a lot of other requirements of the job that are not specificly spelled out in the payment schedule, but are in the body of the contract (ex. electrical, slabs,tie beams, etc.).

Asked on 12/06/11, 3:18 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cory Schnepper Levine, Busch & Schnepper, P.A.

you need an attorney to review your contract

Read more
Answered on 12/07/11, 7:59 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Florida