Legal Question in Employment Law in Florida

I am 72 and due to my seniority, I make a significant salary at my company. During this pandemic, most employees were furloughed but I received a leave of absence letter insisting that I do not return to work by mid-May, they will consider my position abandoned. They have recently hired another employee in my department and I believe they are using this crisis to push me out. It is a publicly held company and they would be unable to fire me, but wish to bring in someone who make demand a lower salary. Because of the increased healthy risk (due to my age), it is HIGHLY unlikely, I will be able to return mid-May. What are my options? If they fire me, will I be able to sue for wrongful termination and ageism?

Asked on 4/23/20, 11:14 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Behren Behren Law Firm

Sounds like you might have some claims against the employer. Feel free to email me privately to set up a phone conference on these issues. I have some ideas of thing we might be able to do for you.

Scott Behren

[email protected]

Read more
Answered on 4/23/20, 11:16 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Florida