Legal Question in Employment Law in Florida

Non-Competition and Disclosure Liability Agreement: I recently left a company and relocated over 1000 miles from the location in the agreement and would like to begin working for a former client of my former employer and would like to know if I would still be bound by the NCA agreement. Please note that we would not be using the software that my former employer utilized or anything remotely similar to it and services provided by my former employer to their former client was continent on using their proprietary software applications.

The second sentence (see below) is the most concerning for me...I would like to work as contract labor for the former client but don't want to fall under "competitor" to my former company.

"Non-Competition: Employee agrees not to set up in business as a direct competitor of Company within a radius of 500 miles of Alexandria, VA for a period of 60 months following the expiration or termination of this agreement. Employee agrees not to make use of research done in the course of work done for Company while employed by competitor of the Company."

Any advice you can offer would be most appreciated! Thank you!

Asked on 4/04/16, 8:19 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Behren Behren Law Firm

I would have to review the agreement and provide you advice as to its enforeability. Feel free to call or email to discuss further.

Scott Behren

Read more
Answered on 4/04/16, 8:38 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Florida