Legal Question in Employment Law in Florida

(state of Florida) employee misclassified as independent contractor.

Question: Is my pension plan (Florida Retirement system) and Social Security benefits recoverable retroactively to the date of contract if I am found to be misclassified? I was an employee receiving those benefits for several years prior to becoming an independent contractor and have continued to work 40 hrs per week (for several years) since for the same employer.

Asked on 4/02/16, 11:15 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Behren Behren Law Firm

I have handled cases with many clients how have been misclassified as 1099 rather than employees but need to find out more information to answer your question.

Read more
Answered on 4/02/16, 11:51 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Florida