Legal Question in Securities Law in Florida

Civil Summons - Investment Related

I was recently served with a summons pertaining to an investment my husband and I made back in 2000. It seems the individual we invested with is now being investigated for securities fraud. The case is in receivership and they are looking to recoup the insufficient funds. This summons was the first I had heard anything about this issue whatsoever. I was in shock -- and I now have 20 days to respond to an issue I have not been involved in since 2001 . . . My husband passed away about 8 months after making this investment and I quickly closed out the account. Thank goodness I kept fairly good records -- because the Receivors records are a mess and reflecting information that is totally inaccurate. Not even sure where to start here.

Asked on 5/29/08, 10:54 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Tepper Mark A. Tepper P.A.

Re: Civil Summons - Investment Related

Since you did not provide sufficient information for us to advise you, we suggest you telephone our office and speak with JoAnn, my legal assistant.

Mark A. Tepper

Read more
Answered on 6/02/08, 2:42 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Securities Law questions and answers in Florida