Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Florida

My Father passed away in August. He had hired an Attorney to complete his will, but fired him before it was done, because the Attorney took his payment and left on vacation. He wasn’t able to complete his will before he died. He had a small life insurance policy which was split between my half brother and myself, which I have received. My question is about Probate. He had about $12,000 in a checking account, can you tell me how I can see about that and any other assests he may have had? I’m in California, he was in Florida.

Asked on 3/10/19, 11:45 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Barry Stein De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary

You need to hire an attorney to open the probate and clear title to any assets in his name alone. Sorry for your loss.

Read more
Answered on 3/10/19, 12:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Florida