Legal Question in Tax Law in Georgia

I leased a car in 2001 and after 4 years when the lease was up I financed it with a finance company. I had one last payment to make on it, but lost my job and have not been able to pay it. The problem is I just found out that the finance company has placed a tax lien on the car that is three times the amount I owe. I have been renewing my registration and paying taxes on it every year with no issues. What can I do? is this legal?

Asked on 9/02/14, 12:23 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Riddle Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC

It does no good to ask "is this legal" when no one apparently knows the facts. Pick up the phone and call the finance company and ask the about the taxes.

Read more
Answered on 9/02/14, 12:26 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in Georgia