Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Georgia

filing probate on dying family member

my mother passed last week. she had been living in my home for almost 2 years. she had no bank accounts, savings, etc..just her monthly ss check. she did not have a will, my question is -- do i need to file anything since there isn't any estate..i am the only child and nothing of value was left.

Asked on 5/17/07, 3:09 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glen Ashman Ashman Law Office also dba Glen Ashman Attorney

Re: filing probate on dying family member

Unless you later find assets, there would not be a need to open a probate.

Read more
Answered on 5/17/07, 4:07 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Georgia