Legal Question in Business Law in Illinois

no compete contract

I own a furniture consignment business. I do not want any employees to learn from me and open their own furniture consignment business. Can I require them to sign a no compete contract to not open such a store ever in my county, or does it have to be a specific length of time? How should the contract be worded?

Asked on 5/19/08, 12:01 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Steele Steele Law Firm

Re: no compete contract

There has to be a geographical and time limit on the contract. In reality, you also need to hire carefully, and watch them like a hawk. And get a very extensive (and enforceable) non compete.

Read more
Answered on 5/20/08, 11:49 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Illinois