Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in Illinois

A police officer pulled me over for "talking on my cell phone, and failing to use signals." The officer drove in speeds reaching (estimate) 70 miles an hour on a city street designated at 25. When he pulled me over he ordered that my passenger (my girlfriend) exit the vehichle, I refused, and he informed me that it is the law for us to obey. He then questioned my girlfriend, with a backup unit at this point. When they were finished speaking with her she was sent back to my vehichle. The officer then came to my window with a $120 dollar ticket for failure to signal at intersections.

This occurred after dark around 8:00 p.m. in a town of around 3000 people. The law enforcement here has been harassing citizens for years with no actual knowledge of the law.

My question is: does this cop have the right to do this? I truly feel like I was harassed.

Asked on 4/04/14, 8:12 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Based on the facts as you have presented them, if I were the judge, yes. But if you want a full answer hire a local attorney and go to court with your girl friend and contest the ticket.

Read more
Answered on 4/05/14, 10:51 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Illinois