Legal Question in Criminal Law in Illinois

Is there a need for an attorney for a first time offense of a "Ordinance Violation-Retail Theft" charge?

I am told this is similar to a traffic violation that will carry a fine, possible community service or probation.

Thank you

Asked on 7/10/16, 7:43 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Elfreda Dockery Law Office of Elfreda Dockery

You should always have your own attorney when you appear in court. A fine could be considered a conviction and therefore, not expungeable.

Read more
Answered on 7/12/16, 8:16 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Illinois