Legal Question in Elder Law in Illinois

My parents left Jewelry to my sister and myself. In the will, there were specific pieces that were named and left to each of us. The remainder was to be split equally (50/50) between the two of us. Both of my parents just passed within several months of each other. My sister and I made a verbal agreement to put all of the jewelry in our family lock box at the bank because both of us have access and a key to the box. We are both co-trustees of my parents trust as well as co-beneficiaries, and co-executors for their estate. Now for the question: I went to the family bank lock box to inventory the jewelry and it was all gone. When I contacted my sister, her response was, it is in "a" lock box, my lock box at my bank. What recourse do I have to ensure that the pieces left to me are returned and that the pieces outside of the trust are properly accounted for, inventoried, and equally divided?

Asked on 1/03/22, 8:32 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Elfreda Dockery Law Office of Elfreda Dockery

Sorry for your loss. If you and your sister cannot resolve this on your own, you will have to litigate it. If you want to discuss further, I can be reached at (312) 372-5600.

Read more
Answered on 1/04/22, 5:24 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Elder Law questions and answers in Illinois