Legal Question in Immigration Law in Illinois

y husband has been in ICE custody for nearly 2 months. His dad was born in Texas. My husband, Jose, has been in the US since around 1 year old, he was born October 1977. Ive been with him 21 years, married 11, and have 3 children together, ages 18, 9, and 11. His parents were married when he was born. And his mother was born in mexico but became a us citizen. My husband got in trouble in 1995 and 1996 in which the judge said the 1995 one he was too young, and the other case is what they are holding him for, because they say he is not a citizen, but a permanent resident. So I'm wondering if he qualifies as a citizen under s 320 (8 u.s.c. 1431).

Asked on 7/25/16, 6:34 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Joseph Michelotti Michelotti & Associates, Ltd.

Yes he qualifies as a us citizen

Read more
Answered on 7/25/16, 8:04 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in Illinois