Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Illinois

I contacted a realtor to sell my house. First thing she asked was "do you own more than the market value of the house". I said yes. I signed the contract and we agreed on a sale price base on comps. Within 5 days, we received 3 offers. two at full asking price and one offer $30K below asking price. I request that we should submit the full price offer to the bank. She said, that the lower price needs to be submitted first because their offer came a day earlier than the other two. Why can't I decide on what to submit to the bank? Is she following the law by submitting the first offer? or simply doing what she prefers? Can I still replace her?

Asked on 9/02/18, 8:46 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Burton Padove Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove

This scenario sounds very suspicious. The question is did you sign and accept the first offer. You really need to have the paperwork reviewed by counsel.

Read more
Answered on 9/02/18, 8:56 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Illinois