Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Illinois

I live in a condo association which in the past honored a 15 day grace period for making monthly assessment payments - in person, via mail and online. A new management company was hired which only allows mailed checks and online payments that need to be received and processed internally by the 15th. They claim it takes 3-5 days to process internally - which was disputed when my the bank showed that payments crossed in less than 36 hours. The new management company has disabled my ability to pay online on 9/14/18 (ongoing) so that I cannot mail or pay online without incurring a late fee - which would not have happened had I been allowed to pay before 8 p.m. on 9/14/18. Additionally there is a 6-8 month dispute re using fines to drive their revenue.

Is there any case law that protects my ability to pay up until the end of the grace period - or penalizes the company for shortening the grace period by insisting the money be collected by the 15th? Any other thoughts welcome.

Asked on 9/15/18, 5:27 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

These consequences need to be set forth in the rules. Someone needs to check the rules first.

Read more
Answered on 10/02/18, 8:57 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Illinois