Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Illinois

We had put an offer on a house, inspection had to be complete within 5 days but agent suggested to do inspection after window installation. Meanwhile seller’s Attorney had rejected our attorney’s request for inspection extension. This Rejection was not notified to us until we asked for mutual cancellation due to structural foundation issues found in the inspection report. We were informed that Seller refuses to sign. Our Attorney suggests to forfeit the earnest money since the deadline was not met. Why should we forfeit the money when we were not aware of the extension rejection, we would not have gone and spend extra dollars on inspection. Is there any other recourse other than lawsuit ?

Asked on 2/08/23, 9:52 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

We regret being unable to assist you. You have an attorney. You must rely on your attorney or seek alternate counsel.

Read more
Answered on 2/10/23, 8:19 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Illinois