Legal Question in Business Law in Indiana

We cash payroll checks at my place of employment. 2 payroll checks that I cashed for a local business were returned to the employer is threatening to fire me and/or make me pay the $700 since I cashed the checks. How is this my fault? How am I to know how much money is in a business's bank account prior to cashing their payroll checks? I know my employer can fire me for anything, but can they make me repay the $700 ?

Asked on 2/09/18, 7:01 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Wilk Rubino Ruman Crosmer & Polen

You can be fired for no reason in Indiana but you do not owe the $700.

Read more
Answered on 2/10/18, 4:31 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Indiana