Legal Question in Constitutional Law in Indiana

I have a car that I handed over to my parents a little over a year ago so they could have a vehicle that was dependable to drive. It is current on the tags, registration, plates and I have insurance on the vehicle that has my mom listed as a driver. My license had been suspended about 30 days ago for failure to pay a seatbelt ticket that I had received as a passenger in someone elses vehicle. I paid the ticket and had my license reinstated. My mom was pulled over and the police officer asked her if she was me and she told them no he then proceeded to ask my sister who was a passenger in the car if she was me she said no. My mom and sister were stunned because they did not understand why he pulled them over. He told them that he ran the plate and seen that my license were suspended. He looked at their IDs and then he let them go. Can the officer legally do this. For the record my mom and my sister do not resemble me in no way shape or form. They both also where glasses and I do not. Our hair color is different and they are short and rather large women and I am tall and really skinny.

Asked on 7/28/09, 3:47 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Burton Padove Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove

The question is whether he had probable cause to stop, and he did. He acted appropriately.

Read more
Answered on 7/28/09, 9:55 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Constitutional Law questions and answers in Indiana