Legal Question in Construction Law in Indiana

Mechanic's Lien

I am told that I have 10 days from time of materials furnished to a jobsite to get a copy of the notice of commencement from the job owner or my lien rights are invalid. I have found that when I ask for one the owner does not have one or does not know what I am talking about. What exactly do I need to protect my companies lien rights?

Asked on 9/24/07, 12:03 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Voigtmann Baker & Daniels

Re: Mechanic's Lien

There is no "notice of commencement" required for commercial Indiana construction projects. This is a requirement in some other states (for instance, Michigan), but not Indiana.

Read more
Answered on 9/24/07, 12:41 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Construction Law questions and answers in Indiana