Legal Question in Criminal Law in Indiana

Is it legal for a probation officer being an ex-friend of the defendents wifes family but yet asking the judge to give the defendent the maximum sentence, in which he does cause he said the probation officer knows people and knows that they don't change. Should the probation officer even be allowed on the case? Isn't that a conflict of interest?

Asked on 1/29/11, 1:20 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jay Rigdon Rockhill Pinnick LLP

The defendant's attorney can give all of this information to the judge at the time of sentencing. All a probation officer ever does is recommend; the judge decides.

Read more
Answered on 2/09/11, 11:14 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Indiana