Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Indiana

I have a 1 year lease for a 3 bedroom apt. About one month before the start of the lease my third roommate decided she was no longer going to live with us. She's paid the last and first months' rent. The rental company is telling us that since she never took occupancy she is no longer required to pay her rent and now my roommate and I are responsible for her share. Is there a law that states this or is there anything that we can do?

Asked on 8/24/09, 2:08 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Burton Padove Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove

You need to seee a lawyer and bring a copy of the lease. Bottom line is that you may be able to sue your third roomate for her share of the rent.

Read more
Answered on 8/24/09, 6:15 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Indiana