Legal Question in Traffic Law in Iowa

I was recently charged with driving while barred but when I talked to the DOT the lady told me I was able to drive, I also had a hearing with the judge and they would notify me but I was certain the letter stated I was able to drive. I am not sure where the miscommunication came in but apparently when I was pulled over the office stated I was barred so now I am facing court. I am not sure what the consequences are for this and I don't know if I will need a lawyer before facing the judge or not. Can someone please advise me on what I should do? I am nervous and scared.

Asked on 3/16/19, 6:50 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner

Get yourself a lawyer. If you cannot afford on they will appoint you a PD but don't expect much. Driving while barred is a serious offense.

Read more
Answered on 3/16/19, 9:21 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Iowa