Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Kentucky

Second marriage for both parties--is their any liability for debts incurred during previous marriages? We reside in Kentucky. One partner has no previous marrital debt, the other partner has marital debt assigned in divorce of February 2011 (credit card debt, divorce attorney debt, two children listed debts and those were given to their father, mortgage in his and ex-spouses names and house is up for sale).

Asked on 9/21/12, 5:31 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Bryan Gowin Bryan Gowin Attorney at Law

Not unless the debt increased during the marriage for marital reasons (ie, not just due to finance charges, lets fees, etc., but due to buying items on credit).

Read more
Answered on 9/21/12, 5:40 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Kentucky