Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Louisiana

My grandmother owned separate property and died in 2017 without a will. My two aunts and mother never opened a succession. My mother passed away with no real property (land) in 2023 and no will. We are opening the succession for my grandmother now. Do I also have to open a succession for my mother since she passed before grandmother's succession was opened?

Asked on 2/02/24, 2:37 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

James Maguire James G. Maguire, Attorney At Law

Yes, since your mother died AFTER your grandmother.

Read more
Answered on 2/03/24, 9:44 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Louisiana