Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Maine

atty illegally hired by a corrupt condo board is acting as a debt collector in Maine does he have to be licensed and pay yearly fee to be debt collector. Maine requires debt collector to be bonded and licensed. Does this apply to an atty. who is not a debt collector

Asked on 3/04/13, 7:36 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

scott logan Law Office of J. Scott Logan, LLC

Yes, there is an exemption for attorneys p[racticing law from this requirement. The attorney does not need to be licensed as a debt collector.

Read more
Answered on 3/04/13, 7:48 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Maine