Legal Question in Business Law in Maryland

Where do I start…..

My brother entered into a contractual agreement with Tesla and their solar panels in 2016. Now deceased, I became the executor of his estate. While managing his property, I noticed he needed a new roof, which I paid for. I also had to come out of pocket $5k to get the solar panels removed, prior to getting the roof fixed. Arguing with Tesla over a few months/years, I managed to obtain a written agreement with Tesla to reimburse me the 5k in an exchange to hand over the solar panels. While all of this is going on, the house is in the process of being sold. I signed the form. I’m waiting for Tesla to countersign which they didn’t. After emailing a few months to get an update on the reimbursement, I get a response that reads:

“””””Thank you for the emails and I apologize for the delay in response and for any confusion.

By way of background, Tesla sent a settlement letter on XX date to arrange for retrieval of our equipment from XX address. As you may know, XX Address was sold in early August. Our Contract Reassignment team began working with the buyer of the house XX date. By the time you signed the settlement offer letter that was sent on XX date, our contract reassignment team was already working with the new homeowner to assume the equipment.

Because you were not the owner of the home at that time you would have been unable to approve removal of Tesla’s equipment from the property, so Tesla did not countersign the settlement letter.

Best Regards””””

Do I have a lawsuit against Tesla for false promises? Not only a written email agreement, but a settlement contract they asked me to sign but then refused to countersign?

Asked on 12/20/23, 1:36 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

You may have a breach of contract claim; possibly, but probably not at the end of the day. Are they correct, that the house was sold and you can't give them the panels back?

Good luck.

Read more
Answered on 12/20/23, 10:34 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Maryland