Legal Question in Criminal Law in Maryland

Tresspassing in my own rental townhouse property.

I was recently charged with misdemeanor tresspassing in my rental townhouse property. While walking in a grassy area behind our complex while I was searching for a pet, a occupant of a unit 3 townhouses down approached me with a bat and threatened me with a bat and ordered me to put my hands on my head and get down on my knees. At this time he yelled to another person in his residence to call the police and he grabbed my hands and walked me to the front of his place until police arrived. He tried to question me before the police arived. He stated that i was tresspassing and looking in on his windows and peeping on him and his family. He also said he could have shot me or that if i didn't comply he would assult me with the bat. When the police arrived they issued me a citation for tresspassing and wrote on it that i was ''tresspassing on said property being posted against trespassers in a conspicuous manner'' and that i was violating Article 27 Section 577 of Criminal law code of Maryland. Even at this time there are no posted signs or property marks denoting private property or no tresspassing. If anyone can help me out in my defense it would be greatly appreciated. Please feel free to post replys if you have any questions.

Asked on 6/30/01, 4:04 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Re: Tresspassing in my own rental townhouse property.

Under the Maryland Statute, you have a legal right to be on the property you rent, and the common ground of all the tenants. This office would be happy to represent you on these criminal charges.

Read more
Answered on 7/02/01, 4:35 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Maryland