Legal Question in Family Law in Maryland

My ex husband and I have joint custody (since '09) of our two children, with a separation agreement saying we will each claim a child each year. Last year my ex went through some things and I had the children most of the summer, 206 nights for me, 158 for him. According to the IRS any parent having a child more than 50% can claim that child. Can I legally claim both children this year? He has said no and has already had his tax guy file his taxes.

Asked on 1/30/15, 5:24 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

A separation agreement signed by the parties is binding.

Read more
Answered on 1/30/15, 8:24 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Maryland