Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Massachusetts


I had a question regarding my lease for an apartment in Brookline, MA. In the lease, it states "No parking is allowed on the Landlord's property without the Landlord's permission." Now, I renewed the lease in September 2010 and on November 1st, the landlord started charging for parking spots behind our building which had not been done before. Previously, all of the tenants including myself, parked behind the building for free. Is it legal for the landlord to charge for something that was previously free even though it is not clearly stipulated on the lease that he/she can or cannot do this? Isn't it true that loandlords cannot charge for something that was not included in the lease?

Thank you so much!

Asked on 11/02/10, 12:07 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Donald Drouin Law Office of Donald Drouin

PArking is NOT part of your lease, if the space behind the building is owned by landlord he has a right to do whatever he wants with it.

Read more
Answered on 11/09/10, 7:14 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Massachusetts