Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Massachusetts

My brother passed away recently. In his will he named my other brother, who has two girls, and myself as inheriting his house as joint tenants with the right of survivorship. The other brother had already passed away in 2006. I believe the house is clearly mine. My lawyer says he received another opinion from a colleague that my brothers daughters have a right to half of the house. This is in Massachusetts.

Asked on 11/27/18, 12:39 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Christopher Vaughn-Martel Charles River Law Partners, LLC

I'm sorry for the recent loss of your brother. Take your paperwork to an attorney right away. It matters what the will says, plain and simple.

Christopher Vaughn-Martel, Esq.


Read more
Answered on 12/01/18, 6:24 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Massachusetts