Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Michigan

My friends like in their family home. Both of their parents passed away. Their names are not on the deed to the house. There is a mortgage that they have been paying. Are they responsible to pay this if the house is not in their name?

Asked on 10/08/17, 6:29 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Klisz Klisz Law Office, PLLC

They have no duty to pay as long as they don’t want to keep the asset. If they do, they’ll need an attorney to handle Probate to get it in their name to sell or refinance the house.

Read more
Answered on 10/08/17, 7:29 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Michigan