Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Michigan

When property is transferred via quit claim deed in the state of Michigan, do back taxes owed transfer with it? I owe back property taxes and I am giving my property to a family member - will I still be responsible for paying those back taxes?

Asked on 3/22/17, 7:25 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Klisz Klisz Law Office, PLLC

The deed only transfers the interest, the lien is still in full effect. If you don't pay the taxes, foreclosure will occur. Make a payment plan ASAP.

Read more
Answered on 3/22/17, 8:09 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Michigan