Legal Question in Traffic Law in Michigan

I received a citation for improper use of a handicapped placard in MIchigan. I called the court to get the fine information and was told it is a misdemeanor with a mandatory appearance, not a parking ticket. I do not have an excuse as I did park in the spot without a disabled person in the car, but I do have an explanation. I work with a handicapped teenager and was supposed to meet he & his parents at the store to take him to the movies. Their plans changed at the last minute and he was not dropped off. While I did not have him in the car with me when I parked, I was supposed to have him with me when I left. I did not explain this to the officer because I thought it was a simple parking ticket and I was ok with paying the fine. I have never had a ticket before, let alone a misdemeanor, so I am nervous about the appearance. What happens at the apprearance (it is a walk-in arraignment)? Should I explain the situation and hope it will be reduced to a civil infraction or just plead guilty and take the punishment?

Asked on 2/06/20, 10:02 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Klisz Klisz Law Office, PLLC

You should never plead guilty to a misdemeanor crime as it will be on your permanent record. You should employ a local attorney to assist you in this matter. It’s not worth the consequences

Read more
Answered on 2/06/20, 10:21 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Michigan