Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Michigan

My mother in Michigan just passed and left a short legal will. It noted a handwritten list of personal items to be given to family members, all but one was also named in the will to receive specific assets. 1.One of the family members is NOT named in the will, but on the list to receive an item. Must that person be listed as a devisee on probate documents? It is a grandson whom she stated "had been taken care of" and will not receive any other benefits from the will/estate. 2.Does the list of personal items (jewelry, glassware, clocks, dolls none of great value, maybe $1000 total) need to be listed on the estate inventory of assets and given a value? (The rest of the undesignated personal property in the house will be divided and or sold with monies going into the estate account to be divided between the 4 heirs.) The 4 named devises (grandchildren) will split the stock holdings between them.


Asked on 1/03/19, 10:39 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Tatone John R. Tatone & Associates PLC

I would like to help you with the administration of the estate. Please call me at 586-580-8850 or e-mail me at jt@johntatone.com

Read more
Answered on 1/14/19, 12:30 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Michigan