Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Minnesota

Owe rent/living expenses after moving out?

I was engaged to a woman and we lived together for 3 years before we broke up. She is now saying that she talked to a lawyer that says she can sue me for back 'rent' and living expenses. I paid most of the monthly household expenses and can prove it with cancelled checks. We have been apart for over a year and now says that she might sue me. Does she have grounds to come after me for 'rent' she says I owed her while we lived together? Thank you.

Asked on 11/29/05, 8:37 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Anderson Anderson Business Law LLC

Re: Owe rent/living expenses after moving out?

No. Unless there was an agreement that you were obligated, she cannot recover. In MN, there is no PALIMONY without a written agreement.

Read more
Answered on 11/29/05, 8:52 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Minnesota