Legal Question in Employment Law in Minnesota

If I'm a sales rep member of a group of 6. Each of us represents our employer's products at assigned Home Depot stores. Each of us is compensated with a salary and a small commission. We each have some travel for which we are not compensated. This is where my question centers: My travel ranges from 850 to 1000 miles each week since my assigned Home Depots are wide ranging. The other reps are assigned in metro areas and all are in close proximity to their home base and their mileage is nowhere near my required mileage. Compensation for our vehicles (which we own or lease) is supposed to be covered by the taxable $500.00/month with no consideration for insurance, maintenance, and the miles driven to accomplish our assigned tasks. In addition I am not compensated for the excessive miles I drive to accomplish my required duties. Management wants 8 hours per week spent in each of my assigned stores with no compensation or even consideration for my long range mileage. When I have presented this for consideration I receive no positive response if I get one at all. Is there any recourse with the employer for this treatment inequality?

Asked on 4/02/18, 8:46 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Anderson Anderson Business Law LLC

Why aren’t you reimbursed for mileage?

You need to renegotiate your deal

Even though you may be sble to claim mileage on tax return, your colleagues are being effectively over compensated for same work

Read more
Answered on 4/02/18, 9:15 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Minnesota