Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Minnesota

A person is approved for a 18 month lease, moves in, then has health issues with the cigarette/pot smoke left behind in the walls, ceilings, cabinets, etc. The landlord has painted the apartment twice (at the demand of the tenant) and now the issue is resolved. The landlord also paid for a hotel (again at the demand of the tenant) painting the second time as the fumes were toxic. Now, 1 week later (September 13, 2017), the landlord all of a sudden (after the tenant took possession of the apartment July 28, 2017) decides one of the rental references is not acceptable (apparently the phone number is changed and cannot be contacted). Tenant offered a different reference to which the landlord stated "I have to have the most recent." Is this legal to demand the tenant to provide a new number for the old reference? Can the landlord legally evict? Advice please.

Asked on 9/14/17, 8:02 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Anderson Anderson Business Law LLC

Need to review lease provisions

Likely a waiver issue

I have 35 years LL/Tenant law experience

Read more
Answered on 9/14/17, 8:52 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Minnesota