Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Minnesota

Brother was Executor of the estate twenty-five years ago. He privately with a few family members emptied our father's safe & divided it among the heirs. He gave my two brothers my share to give to me. One brother set up a trust & told me about it fifteen years later prior to death. The other brother has the other half of my share of what was in the safe. This brother flat out lies about it. I now have found out they told others it is in their will for me but I am the older one. He does not have a will. His estate is set up so it will avoid probate. I just found this out. Does the statute of limitations take on a new "toll" period? The Executor is doubling down trying to say it never happened. No estate taxes were paid on the money in the safe. Could he still face criminal charges after twenty-five years? This now involves millions of dollars owed to me. I have maybe one heir that will confirm the dividing of the money in the safe. What do I do? I really don't want my brothers to face criminal charges. I just want my money back.

Asked on 10/10/17, 9:50 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Melvin Peterson 763-424-6442

You best seek an attorney to discuss this in much more detail

Read more
Answered on 10/11/17, 5:19 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Minnesota