Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Missouri

This may be a stupid question... My father just passed away this past month and less then 10 years ago he inherited the family farm from my grandfather that has been in our family for generations. He got married during that time frame and put my step mother's name on the deed. Does that mean she is the sole owner of the farm since he passed away. My father didn't leave a will but verbally expressed he wanted my brother to have the farm.

Asked on 8/16/14, 8:41 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael R. Nack Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law

What does the deed say? If your father deeded it to himself and your stepmother as husband and wife, or as joint tenants, then she owns it.

Read more
Answered on 8/17/14, 5:35 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Missouri